Alexander Acosta Osorio

video, photo, blogging and media

Following The Blog

with 2 comments


Today I am starting my five day close look of viewfinder: A blog about photos in the news, from BBC. The task at hand: Observe closely the blog and identify it’s main characteristics, how it works and what I find in it. It seems pretty straight forward, but is it?

Today more than ever blogs are playing an important role in how we access information and interact with it. There are blogs of all colors, topics and tastes, and in the BBC it is not an exception, but why viewfinder? I could have tried to spend some time observing the outstanding images of say the Boston Globe’s ‘ the big picture’ or I could have tried to navigate the pay per content New York Time’s to get to their ‘Lens’ , right?

Yes, but viewfinder is different.

It’s not only about images. I’ve got actual blog entries about various topics, from the dead of the Polaroid to the future of photojournalism itself discussed by some of the leading professionals in the field. How can you beat that?  I’ve got a list of current topics and if I am tired read about photography I can jump to other BBC blogs. If I am looking for something in particular, I have got archives and if I am to busy to go to the page itself and I want to receive a feed, I can get it as well.  One of the things I like is the thumbnails with the bloggers’ images and a mini profile. a bit old fashioned, but rather effective. If I wish to contact Phil Coomes (picture editor and photographer for the BBC website) I have his work e-mail right there.

Explore viewfinder here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/photoblog/

Written by Alexander Acosta Osorio

February 3, 2011 at 10:41 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome post. Do you mind if I ask what your source is for this information?

    Jamboree In The Hills

    February 16, 2011 at 12:26 pm


Leave a Reply

