Alexander Acosta Osorio

video, photo, blogging and media

Nikon D300s

leave a comment »


A Nikon D300s with Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm lens.

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve worked with a Nikon D300s for the last year. All I know about this piece of work I learned it pretty much on the ground.

It’s been fun.

However, more often than not I’ve had the feeling I’ve been missing out on the capabilities of  the D300s, and oh boy, right I was.

I took a photojournalism course not long ago. We talked about photography tips, the essence of photography and photojournalism. We watched some videos and did some field work.

At the end of the course I had a portfolio. However, I always wished we had spent more time learning the basics of our working tool — which we didn’t.

I’ve been lucky enough to keep having access to this camera and the gift of more courses where I must produce visual content. So opportunities to learn the real power of the D300s have been generous.

However, a piece of advice:

Don’t let it happen to you!

Before starting to shoot, become familiar with your equipment: learn and play with the settings, and if you are taking a course at least make your professor play a youtube camera review for you. You’ve paid for the course already anyway.

You don’t want to be the guy or gal asking for explanations on how the camera works all the time. Believe me I had a few.

Watch a few videos, read some reviews and then explore what you can do. It will save you some time.

You’ll notice the difference.

In case you want to check out  the Nikon D300, the predecessor of D300s, go here:

Written by Alexander Acosta Osorio

March 6, 2011 at 7:56 pm

Leave a Reply

